The Magnuson Fisheries Act

104 29


    • The law set up several specific laws for fisheries in the United States. Among these include the barring of foreign fishing, except in designated economic zones, and the ban of large-scale driftnets, except in designated economic zones.

    Fishery Councils

    • The law created eight regional Fishery Management Councils: New England, Mid-Atlantic, South Atlantic, Caribbean, Gulf of Mexico, Pacific, North Pacific and Western Pacific.


    • The law created regulations for acceptable research of fisheries. This included development of a plan to identify the types and count the approximate numbers of each species in the fisheries and to observe the effects of fish harvesting on the ecosystem.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.