Hit and Run Laws
Hit and run takes place when the driver flees from the scene of an accident or crash. The way to understand this offense is to look into the duties that Florida drivers are legally required to do once an accident or crash occurs.
Under Florida law, if a driver is involved in a car accident that results in any kind of damage, whether the damage is to a property or another person, the driver is legally required to stop and exchange information. This is known under the law as the Duty to Give Information and Render Aid. For instance, if the driver is involved in an accident that resulted in property damage, then the driver is required to stop and give his name, address, registration information, and give details about his or her driver's license, if requested.
As for accidents involving injuries, the driver must render assistance. The driver involved in this accident should stop, provide reasonable aid, and make sure that EMS is contacted, or bring the injured person to a medical facility, if requested, or if it is apparent that medical attention is needed.
Hit and run technically occurs when the driver involved in an accident that causes injury or damage leaves the scene of the accident and neglects the duties that he or she is obligated to uphold under Florida Law.
The penalties for a hit and run offense in Florida depend on the circumstances surrounding a given case. Penalties for this offense will typically depend on whether the underlying accident resulted in property damage or personal injury.
For hit and run resulting in property damage, the offense is treated as misdemeanor. The penalties for this are may be up to 60 days jail term and a fine of $500. For hit and run resulting in personal injury, the offense is treated as a felony. The penalties for this are a maximum of 15 years in jail and maximum fine of $10,000.
Hit and run is a very serious criminal offense in Florida. This offense requires an experienced criminal defense lawyer.