- In Arkansas, trailers cannot be towed faster than 70 miles per hour on freeways.semi trailer image by max blain from Fotolia.com
In the United States, rules of the road are generally left up to individual states. Towing laws vary between states, from the speed trailers can be towed at, to the dimension requirements, to the various safety equipment each state requires. In Arkansas, laws are regulated by the Office of Motor Vehicles.
- Trailer height cannot exceed 13 feet, 6 inches, while trailer width maxes out at 8 feet, 6 inches. Overall, a truck and trailer may not exceed 65 feet in combined length in Arkansas. A single trailer cannot exceed 43.5 feet in length.
- In Arkansas, trailers that exceed more than 3,000 pounds are required by state law to be equipped with trailer brakes and a breakaway switch. The brake systems for these oversized trailers must be an independent brake system separate from the truck's braking system. The gross vehicle weight must be calculated on a case-by-case basis using the Federal Bridge Formula.
- Trucks or other vehicles towing trailers cannot drive faster than 70 miles per hour in the state of Arkansas.
- Drivers towing trailers are required to use their wipers and headlights, and can turn right on a red light unless a sign is posted. Drivers towing trailers can park in rest stops overnight unless a sign is posted prohibiting this. Furthermore, trailers must be equipped with trailer chains.
- To drive a vehicle towing a trailer in Arkansas, a driver must have a Class D license -- also called an operator license. You must be 16 years of age to apply for a Class D license, though restricted Class D licenses may be granted to minors aged 14 and over.