The Classification of Bluebonnet Flowers

104 19


    • The term bluebonnet actually refers to a number of species, including the well-known Texas bluebonnet (Lupinus texensis), Lupinus argenteus or silvery lupine, and Lupinus harvardii or Chisos bluebonnet.


    • These flowers are members of the genus Lupinus, or the lupins. This genus contains around 200 species, most native to North and South America, with some plants found in Africa and the Mediterranean. Most are herbaceous perennials with blue or purple flowers, though some are shrub like.


    • Bluebonnets are part of the Fabaceae or Leguminosae family, also called the pea or legume family. This family also includes peas, lentils, soybeans and licorice, and contains about 18,000 species.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.