State Laws for Legal Stun Guns

104 72
    • Laws regulating the public's right to possess or use weapons that temporarily immobilize a person vary from state to state. These weapons are commonly called: stun guns, electronic defense weapons and electronic control devices, including the Taser brand. In addition, some American cities regulate or prohibit these weapons regardless of the absence of state restrictions.

    States in Which Stun Guns Are Legal

    • Some states do not include stun guns in firearms law and do not require a permit to carry a stun gun. These are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington State, West Virginia and Wyoming.

    States in Which Stun Guns are Illegal

    • Seven states specifically prohibit possession or use of stun guns. They are Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Wisconsin. In addition, the District of Columbia prohibits stun guns.

    States That Regulate Stun Guns Under Gun Laws

    • Three states regulate the possession and use of stun guns under state firearms laws. In Connecticut, stun guns may be used only in the home. Illinois stun gun owners must obtain an Illinois Firearm Owner's Identification Card from the Illinois State Police prior to purchasing or possessing a stun gun. The State of Indiana regulates stun guns under its handgun laws.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.