Here are highlights from Maryland law on driving while under the influence (MD Transp. Code section 21-902). Click on the links for further explanation of the legal terms associated with drunk driving in Maryland.
'Per Se' BAC Level: .08
Zero Tolerance BAC Level: .02
Enhanced Penalty BAC Level: None
Implied Consent Law: Yes
License Suspension 1st Offense: 60 days
License Suspension 2nd Offense: 120 days
License Suspension 3rd Offense: Varies
Mandatory Jail Time after 2nd offense: Yes
Mandatory Alcohol Education: No
Mandatory Assessment/Treatment: No
Possible Ignition Interlock: Yes
Possible Vehicle Confiscation: No
Hardship License while license suspended: Yes
Open Container Law: For driver and passenger
These are highlights of the main provisions of Maryland law pertaining to drunk driving. Other factors can increase the penalties for drunk driving, such as if an injury or death occurred, or if a child was endangered.
If you have been arrested for drunk driving in Maryland, contact an attorney in your area to determine you rights and responsibilities.
Source: MD Transp. Code section 21-902