Lufthansa Operates From Four Main Hubs

105 12
Lufthansa Airlines which is the flag carrier of Germany is the fourth largest Airline company in the world in terms of passenger traffic and fleet size and its operations are with 18 domestic destinations and 203 International destinations in 78 countries across the world, while it caters to 410 destinations along with its partnership airlines, claiming the status of the second largest passenger airline service in the world.

Lufthansa Airlines' main hubs are at Frankfurt Airport, Munich Airport, Dusseldorf International Airport and the newly opened Berlin Brandenburg Airport.

Lufthansa Airlines holds partnership with Air Malta, Air India and Luxair, with whom it has worldwide network in respect of Coordinated connections, common frequent flyer program and code sharing arrangements.

The fleet strength of Lufthansa Airlines is 279 as of July 2011 while there are orders for another 98 to be added to this strength and the average age of its aircrafts 13.3 years.

Lufthansa Airlines' cabin classification is praiseworthy, with its three classes First, Business and Economy in its international long haul aircrafts, with the interior providing facility of converting each seat in to two metre bed in the first and business class cabins, with an excellent inflight catering with free drinks which are unique features of Lufthansa Airlines.

Air India is a quasi-Governmental organization and also the flag carrier Airline of India, which merged with the domestic airlines company Indian few years back, was started in 1932 as Tata Airlines and it has its hubs at Delhi Indira Gandhi International Airport and Mumbai's Chhatrapati Shivaji International Airport, operating a fleet size of 89 and catering 75 destinations domestic and international.

Air India has been facing quite a few issues in its business area, because of number of problems such as increasing financial losses, employee disgruntlement and unsatisfactory customer service, all of which led to its failure to maintain minimum standards of membership with Star alliance and it also faces challenges from its local competition.

Air India's subsidiaries are

€Air India Cargo, which takes care of its freighter operations with a Douglas DC-3 Dakota aircraft, and it is the first Asian Airline to operate an aircraft freighter service
€Air India Express functions as the Air India's low cost airline service and
€Air India Regional operates the regional routes having its main hub at Delhi Indira Gandhi International Airport

Air India has also code sharing agreements with 14 International airways who are Skyteam and Star Alliance members.
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.