Who Was the First Four-Time Winner of The Masters?

106 17

Question: Who Was the First Four-Time Winner of The Masters?

Answer: Arnold Palmer. Arnie's first major championship victory came at Augusta National in 1958. He won The Masters again in 1960, 1962 and 1964.

In 1960, Palmer birdied the final two holes to nip Ken Venturi by one stroke. In 1962, he won an 18-hole playoff over Gary Player and Dow Finsterwald. In 1964, the King ran away with it, finishing at 12-under and six strokes ahead of the runners-up.

Palmer very nearly missed having five Green Jackets. In 1961, Palmer lost by a stroke to Gary Player after double-bogeying the 72nd hole.

See scores/recaps of the 1958 Masters, 1960 Masters, 1962 Masters and 1964 Masters

Return to Masters FAQ Index

The Masters on About.com
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

"Society & Culture & Entertainment" MOST POPULAR