What Are the Recognised Endometriosis Stages?

103 21
Endometriosis stages are used by doctors to classify the extent of endometriosis implant proliferation as well as the severity of the condition.
Endometriosis is a condition that is common among women of reproductive age.
As soon as they start having menstrual periods, women as young as 16 can start feeling the symptoms.
Endometriosis is also among the leading causes of infertility.
The endometrium is a lining found in the uterus.
It is a site of implantation for fertilized egg cells, and soughs off every month as part of the menstrual flow of women.
If the endometrial tissues are located in other areas aside from the uterus (i.
fallopian tube, ovaries, intestines, superficial pelvic lining), the condition is called endometriosis.
Stages of endometriosis are classified as follows: Stage I - stage of endometriosis where endometriosis implants are minimal.
Score of 1-5 pts are given when endometrial growth outside the uterus is isolated, usually along the cul-de-sac of the pelvic area.
Stage II - this is considered as mild endometriosis with 6-15 points given as a score.
Small implants are located in small areas, as well as a few scar tissue or adhesions.
Sometimes both ovaries are affected.
Stage III - moderate stage of endometriosis with a score of 16-40 points.
Implants are both superficial and deep.
Major areas of several scar tissues or adhesions are noted.
Among endometriosis stages, it is in this stage where women would commonly notice or feel manifestation of symptoms.
Stage IV - the most severe stage of endometriosis stages with 40 points given in diagnosis.
Multiple superficial as well as deep implants are observed along with large, prominent adhesions.
Infertility is experienced in this stage of endometriosis because of the degree of proliferation of the endometriosis implants.
Although the American Society for Reproductive Medicine has come up with these endometriosis stages, the condition is benign and controllable.
Signs and symptoms of endometriosis do not necessarily correlate with the stages.
Women with Stage I endometriosis can experience severe signs and symptoms.
In contrast, women with Stage III or Stage IV endometriosis only manifest mild symptoms that still give them enough capacity to go on with their daily activities.
Do note that staging is only done through laparoscopic and biopsy studies and it is not based on your signs and symptoms.
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.