- 1). Inform the tenant of your rental property that his rental agreement has expired or has been terminated. This is best accomplished using registered mail, to document the agreement termination for use in court if necessary later on. In Kansas, a tenant may be evicted for breaking any non-discriminatory clause listed in the initial rental agreement. In the case of late or non-payment of rent charges, a landlord may evict a tenant, giving up to 30 days notice. If the rental agreement was for one year, a 30-day notice is required. If the agreement was for less than three months, a three-day notice is all that is needed.
- 2). File criminal trespassing charges if a tenant has not left your rental property in the given time. In Kansas, trespassing is a misdemeanor and may carry a penalty of up to 30 days in jail. If a tenant has been evicted from a rental property, and the stated eviction notice time has passed, the tenant is trespassing if still on the property. Call your local police or the Kansas Capitol Police at 785-296-3420 to report a trespasser. They will then allow you to press criminal trespassing charges and set a court date for the arraignment, or official reading of the charges.
- 3). Post a notice in a newspaper that is circulated within the county of the rental property stating that abandoned personal possessions will be sold if not collected by the former tenant. Kansas state law requires the notice to be posted at least 15 days prior to the sale or disposal. The listing must include the tenant's name and the rental address. The notice must also include a description of the property and the date that the property will be sold or disposed of. If the former tenant wishes to collect the property before the sale or disposal date, he must pay any outstanding rent and property storage fees.
EDITOR PICKS & Articles
- RV Insurance Policy Basics
- Some Tips on How to Find Cheap Auto Insurance
- DUI Auto Insurance - Don"t Drink and Drive!
- Look for the Best Cheap Auto Insurance Online Option
- How To"s Of DWI Auto Insurance
- Auto Insurance - 11 Tips For Better Auto Insurance Quotes
- Is It Okay to Drop Collision and Comprehensive Insurance?
- Compare Auto Insurance Companies - The Fast and Easy Way to Compare Auto Insurance Companies
- State of Ohio Car Insurance Law
- Get Better Rates on Your Caravan Insurance
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
"Law & Legal & Attorney" Categories
Stay With Us