What Elements Make Gelatin?

104 6

    Sources

    • All gelatins are made from refined animal collagen. The process is thorough enough that the resulting gelatin is free of even molecular traces of animal collagen. Despite rumors to the contrary, animal horns and hooves are not used in the manufacture of gelatin. Gelatin is refined only from collagen-based tissue from animals raised and slaughtered for food purposes.

    Process

    • The manufacturing process to turn collagen tissue begins with animal tissues not used in food products. These pieces are soaked in alkalies and acids that weaken any noncollagen tissue, which are then washed off in clean water. The collagen is converted into a form of glycerin during this extensive soaking. This material is then processed with pure water to extract only the gelatin, which is then filtered further.

    Refinement

    • During the refinement process, nothing is added, making gelatin a completely natural product. The actual gelatin itself does not contain sugar or carbohydrates and also contains low sodium and very low amounts of fat. Gelatin is extremely low in calories and is also a good source of protein. Gelatin should not be confused with vegetable gelatins, as no known plant source of gelatin exists.

    Nutritional Information

    • Gelatin lacks the nutritional diversity to be a well-rounded, single-protein source, though it is a source of up to 18 amino acids. Gelatin is a strong source of proline and lysine, which can work with vitamin C to eliminate artery blocking deposits. Gelatin is also an effective source of glycine, which can help to balance digestion. Gelatin is helpful in liver functions, and can lessen some allergies and sensitivities in people with B and AB blood types.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.