What Is the ISO Model?

104 56

    Government Endorsement


    • The goals of both the ISO/OSI model and the GOSIP profile are the same--to create "inter-operability." This means an interconnected world in which everybody's hardware and software works compatibly with everyone else's.

    The Seven Layers

    • The seven layers are: physical, data link, network, transport, session, presentation and application.

    An Eighth Layer

    • Some computer gurus speak of an unofficial eighth layer of social engineering and security policy.

    Decline of GOSIP

    • Five years after announcing GOSIP, the U.S. government decided that its use was optional by "removing the requirement that Federal agencies specify GOSIP protocols when they acquire networking products and services and communications systems and services."

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.